Mobile nav

Soundart People

Soundart people:

The station is run by volunteers, supported by a board of directors.

We began in 2006 as an experimental student radio station at Dartington College of Arts. In 2009 we became the community (and still experimental) radio station for Dartington and Totnes. We are regulated by Ofcom.

We run a membership scheme which is open to all. We hold an Annual General Meeting (usually in November) to which all members are invited to attend and vote on the appointment of directors.

We are a non-profit company limited by guarantee. 


Our board of directors:

  • Alice Armstrong
  • Chris Booth
  • Claire Callender (Chair)
  • Sarah Gray (Secretary)
  • Lucinda Guy
  • David Harbott
  • Shelley Hodgson
  • Mark Leahy
  • Alex Marsh
  • Sally Sutton
  • Corinne Turner (Treasurer)
  • Robbie Warke


People who volunteer are the lungs of Soundart Radio. Over 100 volunteer managers, programme makers, presenters, producers and studio engineers keep us breathing. Each volunteer brings their unique self to our vibrant mix of styles, ideas and content. Issues of arts, wellbeing and social inclusion are central.

This volunteer community is a fabulous mix of enthusiasts, specialists, pioneers, early adopters, change agents, place makers and the voices of those at the edge... Together we nurture and develop each other's talents and ideas. People of all ages and from all walks freely give around 245 hours a week to keep the station on air.